Striving to storytell with less ego


“The convergence of text and reader brings the literary work into existence, and this convergence can never be precisely pinpointed, but must always remain virtual, as it is not to be identified either with the reality of the text or with the individual disposition of the reader.”

– Wolfgang Iser, “The Reading Process: A Phenomenological Approach”


I want more storytelling.

More specifically:

  1. Storytelling with less ego
  2. Appreciation for the moment you melt into a story ___________________________________________________________

Storytelling with less ego

Above everything, storytelling with less ego tells a story to tell a story.

It doesn’t look for praise, pity, or to compete.

It derives from a place of wholesomeness. Born out of a fire to connect.

Storytelling with less ego is told the precise moment a story was meant to be told.

It simply says – I am here, and I am sharing this.

Chapter by chapter, take it or leave it.

At this point, I’ll take two guesses as to what you’re thinking…
One: “Sounds good in theory – but how do you actually apply that without trying to impress/impose upon someone else in some way?”
Two: “Where does a "place of wholesomeness” come from?“
.
.
.
Appreciation for the moment you melt into a story

First, I think I’m starting to find a groove here between reading, writing, reflecting, creating, connecting, etc. It’s a delicate balance that will always be unbalanced and always contain ambiguity. But I’ll always arrive at similar overlapping endpoints. Here’s one, most relevant to this post:


A serene clarity to what is universally urgent emerges when you fully submerge yourself in a particular process.


Just like there is a moment while reading a book that we become so fully immersed we forget we are reading, there are infinite moments we lose ourselves into the stories we’re living and the stories we’re sharing with one another.

It is in those moments that we melt into a story… and it just feels so good.

It’s ethereal, unapologetic bliss, without having to label it ethereal, unapologetic bliss.

I think we can experience storytelling from a place of wholesomeness, and with less ego, when we are in tune with those moments in which we melt, and OWN them. Not explain those moments/feelings, but LIVE them, and TELL them through stories.

Before wrapping this up, I’ll share a couple stories:

A few nights ago – I’m listening to Claude Debussy’s Clair de Lune on repeat for over two hours, swooning in joy while writing. It’s 11:09pm, I’m slouched over my "standing desk” – the kitchen island – and I’m intensely scribbling down all kinds of new ideas… not because I have to, but because I really want to. And I’m just so happy.

Two days ago – I start talking about high school soccer after a long day teaching, and because I’m with the people I care about most, suddenly I’m not tired anymore. I’m energized.

Yesterday afternoon – I’m the only one walking in my neighborhood in this crazy weather… until I see THE only other person I run into most often on walks – an older gentleman, probably in his 70s, who I’ve never talked to before but we always smile and wave when we pass each other. And this time, he yells out “SO COLD!” with the biggest smile as we’re about to pass each other in opposite directions. And he shows me his pedometer (which is NOT an iPhone by the way!) and proudly shares that he gets 10,000 steps every day. I tell him how great that is, and how I think there’s just nothing like a good walk. He agrees, we wave goodbye, and all I can do for the next five minutes is smile.

To conclude, some food for thought:

What are the stories that you’re consistently sharing?
Are your stories preceding experience?
How many are coming from moments you melt into?
How many are shared with a motive other than storytelling?
.
.
.
Ultimately, I don’t know how to define good storytelling. But I do think that the best stories come from places of authenticity – that are born out of your goodness, with no intent other than sharing it to spread it. Connecting and being seen is human nature, no doubt about it. But can we accomplish that through more storytelling in person? And less storytelling on social media to validate our status?
.
.
.
Two books to share/recommend:

  1. “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho


    “One is loved because one is loved. No reason is needed for loving.”
    – The Alchemist


  2. “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance” by Robert M. Pirsig


    “In a car you’re always in a compartment, and because you’re used to it you don’t realize that through that car window everything you see is just more TV. You’re a passive observer and it is all moving by you boringly in a frame. On a cycle the frame is gone. You’re completely in contact with it all. You’re in the scene, not just watching it anymore, and the sense of presence is overwhelming.”


Happy January, everyone! Cheers to melting into moments and more storytelling. <3

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

As birds do

LADY MACDUFF: “And what will you do now? How will you live?” SON: “As birds do, mother.” LADY MACDUFF: “What, with worms and flies?” SON: “With what I get, I mean; and so do they.” – From Macbeth by William Shakespeare, Act 4 Scene 2 Of... Continue →